statute of limitations florida personal injury law firm
How Long do I have to File an Injury Claim?

How Long Do I Have to File A Personal Injury Claim?

Filing a personal injury claim is no easy task — and if you aren’t careful, you might miss the window of opportunity to do so. There is a specific amount of time that an injured party has to bring their case to court in order to receive just compensation.

The time period allotted for an injured party to file their claim is called statute of limitations, which vary depending on the details of the case, as well as the personal injury laws of the state in which the incident occurred. In Florida, where Neufeld, Kleinberg, and Pinkiert, P.A. has a prominent presence in personal injury law, this length of time depends on the claim.

You have four years to file a claim for general personal injury cases such as using an at-fault driver or another negligent party, or cases involving product liability. If you are suing your own uninsured-motorists insurance carrier, you have five years.

Limitations on Medical Examinations

There is also a time limit on how long the injured party has to be medically examined after an accident. It’s recommended to see a doctor within 72 hours, not only for your own health and well-being but because it increases the value of your medical care. Even if you don’t see immediate or obvious signs of injury, it is still extremely important to get yourself checked out. What happens if there is a delayed onset of injuries, and weeks later, you find yourself with unbearable pain in your neck or back, or something even worse? If it’s been two weeks and you still haven’t seen a doctor, your claim is not likely to be accepted.If you neglect to file your claim within these time periods or see a doctor right away, it’s going to be harder for you to collect payment for any losses or injuries.

Don’t Wait to File a Claim

There is every reason for you not to wait. Immediately after you have been injured, call our personal injury attorneys at Neufeld, Kleinberg & Pinkiert, PA and you’ll hear from one of our skilled South Florida lawyers within 24 hours. We will do everything in our power to get you the compensation you deserve. Our team of attorneys has over 100 combined years of the experience and resources needed to help win your case.

We handle all kinds of personal injury cases, including, but not limited to, car accidents, slip-and-fall accidents, bicycle and motorcycle accidents, pedestrian and crosswalk accidents, premises liability, negligent security, boating and cruise ship accidents, Uber car accidents and wrongful death. With offices in Aventura, Brickell, Plantation, and Lakeland, our team of personal injury lawyers at Neufeld, Kleinberg & Pinkiert, PA is ready and available to represent clients from all over Central and South Florida.Our success is your success, and we believe that our “boutique-style” of representing and handling client cases sets us apart from other personal injury law firms.

Neufeld, Kleinberg & Pinkiert, PA is big enough to mobilize and apply the significant resources needed to prove our clients’ cases, yet small enough to effectively communicate with our clients on a personable, individualized level.We understand how overwhelmed and confused you may be following an accident. Maybe you are unsure if you are even able to file a claim in the first place. Luckily, there are certain signs you should look for that will help you to determine whether or not you have a case on your hands.

Eligibility to File a Personal Injury Claim

If someone else has caused your injury, you are eligible to file a claim. Accidents that fall into this category tend to include those involving cars, trucks, bicycles, motorcycles, boats, or even pedestrian accidents. While in some cases it may be very clear who was at fault, sometimes it can be a little muddy. This is why it’s so important to have an expert personal injury lawyer by your side to help fight for your rights.Another surefire sign that you can file a claim is if you need medical treatment for any injuries sustained from the accident. Minor accidents are not included in this, such as cutting your finger or scraping your knee, but if you need to see a doctor, or worse, go to the hospital, there may be grounds to file a lawsuit in order to cover the fees incurred and seek compensation for damages.

One crucial thing to remember in this instance is to always get copies of any and all documentation to show that you did, in fact, seek medical treatment after the accident and within a reasonable time frame.If you were injured on someone else’s property — things like experiencing a slip-and-fall accident while shopping in a retail store, tripping over stairs inside a building, or getting hurt while at someone else’s home — you may be entitled to compensation. The property owner is responsible for making sure their property is safe for any visitors, meaning that if something happens to you that causes an injury, you’re going to need an experienced personal injury lawyer to help prove that the property owner was negligent, and win your case.

A claim can most definitely be made if you were in a car accident and a loved one died due to injuries sustained from the accident. This could be considered a wrongful death lawsuit, but can also happen because of a medical error, work injury, or slip-and-fall accident. You would be able to sue the person at fault on behalf of your deceased family member.Lastly, if a medical professional caused an injury or illness, this can also be considered a personal injury lawsuit. You can file a claim and sue the medical professional if you were misdiagnosed, given the wrong prescription, or were the victim of an error or malpractice.

Contact our Attorneys Today!

If you have recently found yourself in any of the above situations, it’s imperative that you call us right away. Don’t wait too and risk losing the opportunity to file a claim. Contact us at 305-931-6666 to schedule a free consultation at either one of our offices. Act fast and call today!