Proving “liability” in a personal injury case is often challenging. Depending on where you live, the state laws may dictate how you must go about proving fault. The state of Florida requires you to follow strict rules and regulations during a personal injury case. In most cases, it revolves around proving clear negligence or carelessness of the at-fault party.
Florida has a no-fault car accident law requiring drivers to carry $10,000 of Personal Injury Protection (PIP). This coverage forces insurance companies to pay for hospitalization and medical treatment after a car accident.
Car accidents are the number one cause of personal injury cases in Florida. Many of the injuries are incapacitating and life-altering.
Regardless of Florida’s no-fault policies that provide medical care after a car accident, you are not prevented from filing a lawsuit, proving negligence, and requesting damages for your injury.
Florida’s personal injury regulations define a serious bodily injury as:
Florida carries a statute of limitation on personal injury cases, and you have only four years from the date of injury to file a court claim. Having proper documentation (in good condition), witness statements, and other evidence is also imperative.
Be sure to proceed with your case as swiftly as possible and obtain proper legal representation to help you make your case. Only in rare instances may this deadline be extended.
After a severe injury, you may struggle with medical bills, lost wages, therapies, and other financial consequences. Along with these financial issues, you may also be suffering mentally.
The state of Florida considers many factors when evaluating damages for “pain and suffering.” Some of the things the courts will consider are:
You may be required to undergo independent medical examinations, and your entire medical history may be reviewed for your case.
Florida often imposes comparative negligence rules to personal injury cases meaning that each party in the accident may share a percentage of the fault. This negligence split will determine damages and the amount you receive.
The state of Florida also has a punitive damages cap for personal injury cases where the at-fault party exercised gross negligence or malicious intent. Florida caps these damages at $500,000 per incident.
In Florida, you can sue the state for some personal injury cases if you can prove the office or agency is at fault for your injury. It’s rare, but it does happen. However, there are strict rules regarding these types of cases.
Contact Neufeld Law Firm for help with your Florida personal injury case.
Met with Robert after I had a car accident in Pembroke Pines. Very nice man. Nice staff who answered my questions and got a good settlement.
Great lawyers, great attention to detail, great trial strategies. I am a trial consultant who has worked with the top attorneys in the United States. NKP are the best of the best.
Amy Singer, Ph.D, Trial Consultant
Neufeld, Kleinberg & Pinkiert, PA handled my case against Uber for me and got me a great settlement after I was involved in an accident. They handled all of the negotiations with my doctors and with the other lawyers to get me the best deal possible. I definitely recommend their services!
Daniella Di Prizio
Neufeld, Kleinberg & Pinkiert, PA handles a variety of personal-injury cases. We understand that you are concerned about getting healthy, getting back to work, paying your bills and of course, being fully compensated for your loss. Contact us to start the path to wholeness from your injury today.Get Consultation
All Consultations Are Free of Charge
While we are proud to call Miami and Aventura home, we are also more than happy to help injured people living anywhere in the Sunshine State. In fact, we’ve even been known to travel all around the country just to meet our clients’ needs.
We are here to help the residents of: