Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Coverage: Florida requires every insured driver have exactly $10,000 in PIP coverage. PIP covers about 80% of necessary and reasonable medical costs, hospital costs and funeral expenses, 60% of lost wages, and several other accident-related expenses of the insured, passengers in the insured’s automobile and any people struck by the insured – up to, but not to exceed that $10,000 threshold – regardless of who was at fault.
This is rarely sufficient to cover injuries sustained in a car accident.
Read about Uninsured Motorist Insurance Coverage.
All Florida Drivers are required to carry no-fault auto insurance, also known as Personal-Injury Protection (or PIP), except for bus drivers, taxis and motorcycles. As previously explained, PIP pays 80% of certain medical bills and 60% lost-wage benefits up to $10,000. The concept surrounding this law is that one should not have to wait to receive immediate medical care. This is why it is called “no fault,” your PIP insurance will pay doctors regardless of whether or not you or someone else caused the accident who who else has car insurance.
An injured person must report any car accident to their own insurance carrier and utilize their own PIP benefits first (regardless if they were driving, not driving, at fault, not-at-fault, in their own car, in a stranger’s car).
If the injured person does not own a car, their personal injury lawyer will look for any auto insurance that may cover resident relatives in the injured-person’s household.
If the insured person does not own a car, and does not live with anyone who owns a car, your car accident attorney will apply with the insurance carrier that covers the car in which he/she was in when the accident occurred.
BUT – If the injured person owns a car, but does not have the required PIP insurance, they will not be entitled to utilize anyone else’s PIP insurance and the at-fault party will not have to pay for medical and lost wage-benefits that the injured party would have been entitled to if they were abiding by the PIP law (up to $10,000). Driving without car insurance is illegal and the law will not allow those people who break the law to “benefit.”